Shea butter: 4 homemade treatments

  • By kjhg

Nature still has many very powerful secret ingredients for us to discover. This one is seen everywhere in the compositions of shampoos for the hair as well as body creams. Drum roll... This is the Holy Grail we are talking about, or more commonly known as shea butter. In the trade, this natural nugget is often accompanied by not very natural ingredients. However, in its raw version, it nourishes, boosts hydration, soothes... So why not try homemade treatments? We deliver our recipes to you.

A butter rich in hydration

This little baby with a high hydration potential, aka organic shea butter preferably, is an excellent base for all your body or hair care. It is also a very rich active ingredient that requires very little use in terms of quantity. It is therefore economically very interesting.

On the other hand, shea butter contains vitamins A, D, E and F, perfect for nourishing and protecting. It also contains phytosterols, which play a protective role against the harmful effects of the sun. As the main ingredient of a mask or cream, it nourishes and thus maintains long-lasting hydration. In addition, we are a fan of its sweet smell of nuts.

Note that shea butter solidifies at room temperature: you will therefore need to start by heating it in a bain-marie or in your hands before application. Before you get started, dear future little chemist, here is a small selection of "clean" products available on the market.

Organic shea butter, Cattier

Beurre de karité : 4 soins faits maison

See this product

Organic shea butter Yuzzu, Waam

See this product

Organic and fair trade shea butter, L'Occitane

See this product

Protective organic shea butter, Natessance

See this product

Homemade recipes

We now move on to the heart of the matter with these homemade treatments, for hair and body.

1 - Gourmet mask for dry and damaged hair

Melt the shea butter in a bain-marie and add the hair oils that you keep on hand: castor, olive, coconut, avocado oil... Wait a few minutes for the mixture to cool down. Then dampen your hair to help the treatment penetrate.

Coat them from roots to ends and take the opportunity to massage your scalp with your fingertips to stimulate blood circulation. Then gather your hair in a bun and go about your business. The ideal would be to keep this mask all night.

Finally, rinse well with clear water and proceed with your usual shampoo. The hair is shiny and nourished. No more straw chopsticks!

2 - Nourishing body butter for dry skin

Proceed in the same way and melt the shea butter in a bain-marie. Then add sweet almond oil, an essential oil of your choice to flavor (geranium, lavender...) and a few drops of grapefruit seed extract (natural preservative).

Place the preparation in the fridge so that it becomes more consistent. Then just give it a creamy consistency using an electric mixer. A gourmet, rich and melting recipe to consume without moderation, even to soothe the skin after depilation!

3 - Exfoliating treatment for the lips

To make this homemade exfoliating treatment, you need a teaspoon of shea butter, the same amount of sugar and a few drops of sweet almond oil. Mix all the ingredients well and take a small amount with your finger.

It is applied to the lips with the index finger and gently rubbed in using circular movements. Then, rinse with lukewarm water. What to get rid of dead skin while nourishing and healing the dry skin of our chapped lips.

4 - Cream for dry feet

For silky feet, apply pure shea butter to your heels then cover them with a cotton handkerchief. Let the shea butter penetrate overnight. Repeat this operation for 3 consecutive nights, or even more, until your feet regain their flexibility and softness.

Are you going to try any of these treatments? Share your experience on the forum! And if you fall for one of the organic shea butters, it's not our fault...

  • Tags:

Beurre de karité : 4 soins faits maison

  • Par kjhg

La nature a encore bien des ingrédients secrets très puissants à nous faire découvrir. Celui-ci on le voit partout dans les compos de shampoings pour les cheveux comme de crèmes pour le corps. Roulement de tambour... C'est bien du saint Graal dont on parle, ou plus communément appelé le beurre de karité. Dans le commerce, cette pépite naturelle est souvent accompagnée d'ingrédients pas très naturels. Pourtant, en version brut il nourrit, booste l’hydratation, apaise... Alors, pourquoi ne pas vous lancer dans des soins maison ? On vous livre nos recettes.

Un beurre riche en hydratation

Ce petit bébé au fort potentiel d'hydratation, aka le beurre de karité bio de préférence, est une base excellente pour tous vos soins corps ou cheveux. C'est d'ailleurs un actif très riche qui nécessite une très petite utilisation en termes de quantité. C'est donc économiquement très intéressant.

D'autre part, le beurre de karité contient des vitamines A, D, E et F, parfaits pour nourrir et protéger. Il contient également des phytostérols, qui jouent un rôle protecteur contre les effets néfastes du soleil. Comme ingrédient principal d'un masque ou d'une crème, il nourrit et maintient ainsi une hydratation longue durée. En plus, on est fan de sa douce odeur de noix.

Notez que le beurre de karité se solidifie à température ambiante : il vous faudra donc commencer par le faire chauffer au bain-marie ou entre vos mains avant l'application. Avant de vous lancer, cher.ère futur.e petit.e chimiste, voici tout de même une petite sélection de produits "clean" disponibles dans le commerce.

Beurre de karité bio, Cattier

Beurre de karité : 4 soins faits maison

Voir ce produit

Beurre de karité bio Yuzzu, Waam

Voir ce produit

Beurre de karité bio et équitable, L'Occitane

Voir ce produit

Beurre de karité bio protecteur, Natessance

Voir ce produit

Les recettes homemade

On passe maintenant au vif du sujet avec ces soins faits maison, pour cheveux et corps.

1 - Masque gourmand pour cheveux secs et abîmés

Faites fondre le beurre de karité au bain-marie et ajoutez les huiles pour cheveux que vous gardez sous le coude : huile de ricin, d'olive, de coco, d'avocat... Attendez quelques minutes le temps que le mélange tiédisse. Puis humidifiez vos cheveux pour favoriser la pénétration du soin.

Enduisez-les des racines aux pointes et profitez-en pour vous masser le cuir chevelu du bout des doigts pour stimuler la circulation sanguine. Rassemblez ensuite votre chevelure en chignon et vaquez à vos occupations. L'idéal serait de conserver ce masque toute la nuit.

Enfin, rincez bien à l'eau claire et procédez à votre shampoing habituel. Les cheveux sont brillants et nourris. Fini les baguettes de pailles !

2 - Beurre corporel nourrissant pour peaux sèches

Procédez de la même manière et faites fondre le beurre de karité au bain-marie. Ajoutez ensuite de l'huile d'amande douce, une huile essentielle de votre choix pour parfumer (géranium, lavande...) et quelques gouttes d'extrait de pépins de pamplemousse (conservateur naturel).

Placez la préparation au frais pour qu'elle devienne plus consistante. Il suffit ensuite de lui donner une consistance crémeuse à l'aide d'un batteur électrique. Une recette gourmande, riche et fondante à consommer sans modération, même pour apaiser la peau après l'épilation !

3 - Soin exfoliant pour les lèvres

Pour réaliser ce soin exfoliant homemade, il vous faut une cuillère à café de beurre de karité, la même quantité de sucre et quelques gouttes d'huile d'amande douce. On mélange bien tous les ingrédients et on en prélève une noisette avec le doigt.

On l'applique sur les lèvres avec l'index et on frotte délicatement en réalisant des mouvements circulaires. Puis, on rince à l'eau tiède. De quoi se débarrasser des peaux mortes tout en nourrissant et cicatrisant la peau asséchée de nos lèvres gercées.

4 - Crème pour pieds asséchés

Pour des pieds soyeux, appliquez du beurre de karité pur sur vos talons puis recouvrez-les par un mouchoir en coton. Laissez le beurre de karité pénétrer toute la nuit. Répétez cette opération pendant 3 nuits consécutives, voire plus, jusqu’à ce que vos pieds retrouvent leur souplesse et leur douceur.

Allez-vous tester l’un de ces soins ? Partagez votre expérience sur le forum ! Et si vous craquez pour l'un des beurres de karité bio, ce n'est pas notre faute...

  • Mots clés: