Birkin bags from Hermès hit record prices amid pandemic

  • By kjhg

Having a Hermès bag is sometimes a dream for some women. Even more when it comes to a Birkin bag. The brand's iconic model dedicated to the actress and singer. And as CNN reports, sales have not experienced the crisis during the Covid-19 pandemic. Some versions of the Birkin have sometimes sold for ten times more than its base price. In November, for example, one of them made of crocodile skin was sold for 320,000 euros, while a "Kelly Bag" reached 370,000 euros.

The Birkin normally sell for around 7,400 euros, but some have already reached crazy sums of more than 410,000 euros. Why are they so expensive? Business Insider revealed in March that they were all handcrafted and exclusive. In 35 years, their value has increased by 500%. According to specialists, the bag is even "a better investment than gold or the stock market", since its prices rise by an average of 14% per year.

>> To read also - Hermès: sales are exploding in Asia, the luxury giant is doing much better than expected

The best months “ever known”

Les sacs Birkin de Hermès ont atteint des prix records en pleine pandémie

While millions of Americans have lost their jobs, the market for the sale of Hermès bags has not experienced the crisis, according to CNN, some buyers who cannot travel have invested in real estate … or in leather goods. According to Jeffrey Berk, the director of the Privé Porter retailer, models are going like hot cakes, in particular pink, "still the most popular when it comes to Hermès". The store also sells a pair of small bags, the most expensive on sale. Measuring barely 20 centimeters, they represent the Hermès store in Paris, one by day and the other by night.

According to the boss of Privé Porter, the months of March and April were the "best ever" for the company. The retailer made no less than three million dollars each month. Be careful, to acquire such a bag, you must meet certain conditions. Before, there was a waiting list, but now you have to be rich or important, notes Business Insider. Also, a very small amount is produced per year.

  • Tags:

Les sacs Birkin de Hermès ont atteint des prix records en pleine pandémie

  • Par kjhg

Avoir un sac Hermès est parfois un rêve pour certaines femmes. Encore plus quand il s'agit d'un sac Birkin. Le modèle iconique de la marque dédié à l'actrice et chanteuse. Et comme le rapporte CNN, les ventes n'ont pas connu la crise pendant la pandémie de Covid-19. Certaines versions du Birkin se sont parfois vendues dix fois plus cher que son prix de base. En novembre, par exemple, l'un d'eux réalisé en peau de crocodile a été vendu 320.000 euros, tandis qu'un "Kelly Bag" a lui atteint les 370.000 euros.

Les Birkin, se vendent normalement aux alentours des 7.400 euros, mais certains ont déjà atteint des sommes folles à plus de 410.000 euros. Pourquoi sont-ils si chers ? Business Insider révélait au mois de mars qu'ils étaient tous fabriqués à la main et exclusifs. En 35 ans, leur valeur a augmenté de 500%. Selon des spécialistes, le sac est même "un meilleur investissement que l'or ou la bourse", puisque ses prix grimpent en moyenne de 14% par an.

>> A lire aussi - Hermès : les ventes explosent en Asie, le géant du luxe fait bien mieux que prévu

Les meilleurs mois "jamais connus"

Les sacs Birkin de Hermès ont atteint des prix records en pleine pandémie

Alors que des millions d'Américains ont perdu leur emploi, le marché de la vente de sacs Hermès n'a pas connu la crise, selon CNN, certains acheteurs ne pouvant pas voyager ont investi dans l'immobilier… ou dans la maroquinerie. Selon Jeffrey Berk, le directeur du revendeur Privé Porter, des modèles partent comme des petits pains, notamment le rose, "toujours le plus populaire quand il s'agit d'Hermès". Le magasin met aussi en vente une paire de petits sacs, les plus chers en vente. Mesurant à peine 20 centimètres, ils représentent le magasin Hermès de Paris, l'un de jour et l'autre de nuit.

Selon le patron de Privé Porter, les mois de mars et avril ont été les "meilleurs jamais connus" par l'entreprise. Le revendeur a engrangé pas moins de trois millions de dollars chaque mois. Attention, pour se doter d'un tel sac, il faut remplir certaines conditions. Avant, il y avait une liste d'attente, mais désormais, il faut être riche ou important, note Business Insider. En outre, une très petite quantité est produite par an.

  • Mots clés: