The 25 hidden treasures of the ideal disco of Inrocks

  • By kjhg

From South Korean folk, a certain idea of the oud, a cry of pop anger, the extremely-oriental ambient and many other albums that deserve to be rediscovered.Follow the advice of our diggers.

1 Catherine Howe What a Beautiful Place (1971)

The British Catherine Howe was 20 when she recorded the unknown Whatiful Place, but her voice has the mysterious splendor of timelessness.Worn by a piano orchestra, brass, strings, flutes and oboe, she sails on an icy lake when dawn embraces a pinkish in love with a veiled fogy sky.Between two tenderness nestles a little poetry in Spoken Word.

At orchestration: an American producer, Bobby Scott, who hired the London Symphony Orchestra to co -signing this jewel of magical folk, which immediately disappeared ... before being reissued by the Numero Group label in 2007. We think of Joni Mitchell,Dusty Springfield, but also, more recently, or at the phantasmagorical folk of Weyes Blood.CB

2 Chandra Transportation (1980)

Chandra Oppenheim was only 12 years old when the EP Transportation, Condensed from Postpunk/New Wave, was released by her vindictive voice.It must be said that Chandra Oppenheim is the daughter of the conceptual artist, a pioneer of the Land Art Dennis Oppenheim and that she frequented Steve Reich's lives when others did their homework.Regardless of this stupid fair aspect, the EP is denied, really.Especially the Single Stident Kate, a cry of anger of Chandra against the famous Kate, towards whom all the eyes are turned.CB

3 Kim Jung Mi Now (1973)

In 1973, the South Korean producer Shin Jong Hyun recorded Now with the young Kim Jung Mi, a psychedelic folk album transcended by the intense ballad Your Dream.The album is at the height of his cover: a counter-clout on Kim Jung Mi, his eyes lost in the distance, cut on a sky so blue that it can only be seen through the distortion under LSD, atMiddle of sweet flowers caressing this dreamer table that makes you want to kiss rolled in the grass.CB

4 Mohammed Abdel Wahab Daret El Ayam (1976)

Immense modernist composer, author of large sound frescoes for Oum Kalthoum, and himself a singer, this fairly incomparable Egyptian has released a host of records, among which those where he is accompanied alone in the Oud are among the most sensitive and delicate thingsnever recorded.Without sinking into Orientalism, a form of Arab blues, almost funeral.He was also extremely elegant, which does not spoil anything.Jg

5 Hiroshi Yoshimura Air (Air in Resort)

Known for its music for 9 postcards, reissued a handful of years ago with a lightning success, this Japanese composer released several atmospheric discs, of which this one, made for the Shiseido brand.Air, it's like a perfume that we do not catch, a series of songs so delicate that the very fact of moving by listening to them can crush them, make them evaporate.Not yet reissued, this ambient masterpiece deserves a more worthy pressing than the video cemeteries of YouTube where he is now confined.Jg

6 Leslie Winer Witch (1993)

Leslie Winer's Spoken Word's voice whips you like no one in the corner of a smoked cellar.Wild and sensual, the pioneer Witch is a top of Trip Hop which came out under the name © but was immediately overshadowed by Massive Attack and Portishead.Born in Boston, Leslie Winer met William S. Burroughs at the age of 17 in New York.And with him, Marguerite Duras, Denton Welch, but also heroin.

Leslie Winer became what we can call an it girl, night bird at Roxy, girlfriend of Jean-Michel Basquiat, stamped "first androgynous model" by Gaultier, and shot by Irving Penn like Helmut Newton.But it was in London what Witch recorded in the early 1990s, accompanied by Carl Bonnie from the Renegade Soundwave group, Bassist Jah Wobble from Public Image Ltd., Kevin Mooney and Matthew Ashman by Adam and the Ants.

His texts are collages of quotes gleaned here and there, according to his many readings as well as his own words.It is mysterious, misty, insolent, obscure and supported by bass dub to break your coccyx.Now installed in the French campaign, Leslie Winer continues to get out of the albums.The fabulous Light in the Attic label published an anthology of his work last September under the title when i hit you - you’ll feel it in which you absolutely have to immerse yourself.CB

7 Ambienti Coassiali Room 1-6 (1988)

Les 25 trésors cachés de la discothèque idéale des Inrocks

The 1980s and 1990s produced their share of industrial music or ambient outings in cassette, which were sold via lists of correspondence to extension.Among this overproduction, some beautiful remains, including this Italian album, very minimalist and electronic, which installs sound like a tight architecture: it changes the air around you.And your senses too.Jg

8 Takatoshi Naitoh (内藤 孝敏 孝敏) in the Forest (1993) very beautiful Field Recording album that we cannot advise you too much, as a great proposal to get better.Released in 1993 on the Japanese label Eastworld, this EP invites us into a forest, where a stream flows and where birds are chirping between two sparkling orchestrations.It’s so beautiful, so soothing, so sweet that we could cry from the joy that this disc exists.And if the Internet delivers little info on its author, remains his music ... CB

9 weekend The 81 Demos (1995)

These fragile songs were published in vinyl a handful of years ago by the late Blackest Ever Black label.In 1981, Weekend was a sequel to Young Marble Giants, and these demos are a fairly exceptional moment of passage, in which their minimalist pop, barely frosted, took the delicacy of long moments, ethereal passages, in the way ofWhole afternoon spent making naps filled with dreams-and porous love stories.

It is with obvious and clear evidence throughout the 9 minutes, carried out at the rhythm box of the song Red Planes, whose scrolls build deleterious hypnosis, a progressive capsize of the senses and a dive into the musicality of aera - that, ephemeral, of a postpunk not yet distorted, not yet ankylosed and capable of all explorations, of all intimate mistakes.Jg

10 Twenty Six This Skin Is Rust (1996)

Did you know ?Before Chromatics and his thousands of other projects, Johnny Jewel had started with this group, and his only album: a solo disc, under isolationist and postrock building (the fashion of the time), which buzzes, burns, stretchesTime and settles in a beautiful gray angle, like his pocket, almost silent.Jg

11 Chappaquiddick Skyline Chappaquiddick Skyline (2000)

Among the many incarnations of the American Sonwgriter Joe Pernice (Pernice Brothers, Scud Mountain Boys, The New Mendicants…), Chappaquidick Skyline is the most unclean.The only discographic reference of the group published in Sub Pop in the first days of 2000, this eponymous album contains a dozen Magots of Obedience Country Pop and an unforeseen recovery of the classic Leave Me Alone de New Order.Typically the kind of disc with which we feel less alone.FV

12 Altra in the afternoon (2002)

Undoubtedly one of the most mesestic training in post-rock.And yet, at the dawn of the 2000s, this second album of the Altra published at Aesthetics (Beau Defruit label of Chicago, specialist of the genre) married Codeine, Low and Slint in a bath of youth, with the intertwined voices of LindsayAnderson and Joseph Costa.A disc of twilight and timeless beauty for cottony afternoons.FV

13 The curved volume I KILLED MY BEST FRIEND (2005)

Vendée exiled in London for ages and hidden under this beautiful geometric name, Charlotte Marioneau surrounds herself, in the mid-2000s, some Anglo-Saxon sizes (her ex-companion Kevin Shields, Hope Sandoval, Andrew Innes and Martin Duffy dePrimal Scream) on a mysterious first album, between acoustic pop Songs, oblique melops, resumption of Nina Simone and Sample de Moondog.An atypical disk strangely addictive.FV

14 i love you goal i’ve chosen darkness fear is on our side (2006)

Perhaps the group name that best sums up a hidden treasure.In 2006, this Austin group released a first album produced by Paul Barker from Minister.Inevitably dark, the disc makes the ideal junction between the lyric new wave, the atmospheric rock and the climate postpop.Much as if New Order, Killing Joke and Interpol had given birth to a strange offspring (Ilybicd for friends).The darkness has rarely been so bright.FV

15 Cloetta Paris Secret Eyes (2008) Duo Italo Disco from Sweden in the manner of the compatriots of Sally Shapiro, Cloetta Paris released this first album in 2008 under the cover of a Vichy pink cover, reminding us as much Valerie Dore as the Pet ShopBoys.In ten sweet titles as desired as strawberry lollipops, the singer Cloetta Paris and the producer Clive Reynolds went straight to the tube, even taking up the SEIOUS Saw of Electric Light Orchestra.As kitsch as attachment, a real guilty pleasure.FV

16 Bed The Newton Plum (2001)

In 2001, we discovered Amahi a French heir to Mark Hollis and Robert Wyatt with a first breathtaking and outdoor album published by the aptly named Nancy label here, moreover, moreover unknown and interviewed at the time of the release of The NewtonPlum, Benoît Burello, Bed's brain, told us his tactile approach to sound material: "Make the felt of the tampons on the ropes of the piano, the rope of the double bass against the handle, the curly of the guitar rope".

On the verge of abandoning music before finding refuge on the same record company as Yann Tiersen, Bed therefore publishes this sublime and contemplative disc which, twenty years later, always produces the same wonder.A treasure all the more hidden by music lovers than The Newton Plum has never been reissued since or even published in vinyl.FV

17 Dead Man’s Bones Dead Man’s Bones (2009)

A single album born from the association between the Canadian actor Ryan Gosling and the American producer Zach Fields - whose song Pa Power is today beautifully taken up by Cat Power -, but what a cult album!A sort of UFO that revives the ghosts of the Beach Boys, the cousins of the Flaming Lips and Arcade Fire in a staging that David Lynch nor Tim Burton would deny, all interpreted with the Silverlake Conservatory of Music Children’s Choir.Fascinating from start to finish.FV

18 Tropic of Cancer Restless Idylls (2013)

A handful of Maxis and this alone album: Camella Lobo, alias Tropic of Cancer, held from L.A. a dark music that looked, in the years 2010 on the side of England in the 1980s: here, the specters are called The Cure, CocteauTwins, Slowdive.But they are also very Californian: in this neogothic music also reflect the atmospheres of the Hollywood black films of the 1940s, the films of monsters of the Universal studios.

Since the publication of this album, Camella and his acolyte Taylor Burch (herself in the post-Techno Dva Damascus group), have made a handful of concerts, leaving a quarry that could have been immense.Consolation lot: The program that Camela produces for online radio NTS whose title is a program in itself, Cry Later.Yes, we will cry later.Jg

19 Liquid Wisdom (2014) seven years ago, the editorial staff of the Inrocks excited about the delirium of Rap Théiné from Californian Discussion, 19, son of E-40 and masked as MF Doom (a way of reporting the dimensioncryptic of his tracks).Seven years later, Issue has not broken but we listen to him with the same fascination.Cotton soaked in boiling water, a nonchalant flow supported by dark and elegant prods, a passion for tea, a fascination for Japan.The future was there, however, between his fingers.CB

20 Uranium Club All of TheM Naturals (2017)

Minnesota is not only the motherland of Prince and Bob Dylan is also that of Uranium Club, New Wave formation that one would think of an episode of The Office (US version), well decided atWalk on Devo's flower beds.Like the formation of Akron, Ohio, the Kids of Minneapolis flourish under the gray sky of postindustrialisation, using wobbly rhythms, trinket sizes and worn and sharp guitars, like a critical bastringue of the consumer societyWith a second disarming degree.Fm

21 Cheena spend the night with… (2016)

"Our songs talk about doing stupid stuff in New York," said this Glam-Punk broken arm of broken arms which, in the Mitan of the 2010s, had stood up to revive the Dolls and the Stooges.Broken arms?Not really.Cheena, a group of a single album, is a conglomerate of musicians from Hardcore training from Brooklyn, Far Rockaway and the surrounding room, among which we find Margaret Chardiet, of the Noise Pharmakon project.With eleven dilapidated titles in 30 minutes chrono, spend the night with ... is the very definition of the rock’n’roll emergency.Fm

22 PCPC Ramsgate (2016)

In the Brooklyn bubbling from the late 2000s, a good package of groups oscillating between Chill Wave and Postpunk rub shoulders in clubs, without any other ambition than that of playing as much as possible.It was in this context that short parquets met PC Worship, a formation of forms of musical and unstructured musical expression.Gathered for a single disc under the PCPC nickname, the two stables will push this formula even further, reviving the influences of Slint and Sonic Youth (among others), in a free and surprising metallic maelström.Fm

23 M.B. Jones R.O.K.Spy (2018)

While puffy billionaires are trying to make galipets at the edge of space, the fantasies of the interstellar travel, carried since childhood, seem more devitalized than ever, as an expurgés of their utopian charge.The same goes for the romantic imagination of the life of spy-conionbandier since the fall of the Berlin Wall and the end, trompe l'oeil, of the threat of nuclear fire.

Because popular culture today struggles to produce this kind of intimate accounts, registering in hollow in the global destiny of a drifting humanity, the album of the mysterious M.B. Jones, released in 2018 at Drama (structure adHoc emanate from the Parisian Antinote label), is an anomaly.Presented as a sound document left by an American spy based in Busan in 2017, in South Korea, R.O.K.Spy is a treasure hunting treasure horny in 7 titles.

Disco emained (the song Nuclear War necessarily recalls the retrofuturism of Sun Ra), traditional local instruments, female voice as outings of a transistor, experimental electronics and arthur Russel -style echoes (Even Spies Fall in Love), everything here conspires to accountSentimental and cottony wanderings of an agent held by the largest of secrets with, in the background, the imminence of the flames of the apocalypse.Fm

24 Antoine Kogut Sphere of Existence (2018)

If, instead of getting worse in the New York Peligroso of the 1980s, Serge Gainsbourg was in love with Japanese sea travel, contemplating from the bridge of a boat the distant coast and the curves of the earth, he would haveProbably made a record appear in this ilk.

Antoine Kogut, Parisian musician who passed through the stable Bon Voyage Organization and pilot of the duo Syracuse, released in 2018 this album of seven songs measuring the long time, where synths, brass, gong and economy of words mix, all packaged in aPocket illustrated by UGO Bienvenue.A total object of fascination.Fm

25 Jazz chocolate engaged (2019)

What if chocolate, training made in Quebec with variable geometry, had released the best album in the 2010s?So that there is no error of interpretation, engaged jazz is not a jazz disc, or rather if, but then in its ethics of freedom, intensity and its desire to explode all theCanonical forms underlined by the practice of music (here, rather rock).As such, the fifth long format of this North American equivalent of a King Gizzard could also have been called Prog in committed, or even Kraut engaged.A definition of damn generosity.Fm

Text Carole Boinet, Joseph Ghosn, François Moreau and Franck Vergeade

  • Tags:

Les 25 trésors cachés de la discothèque idéale des Inrocks

  • Par kjhg

Du folk sud-coréen, une certaine idée du oud, un cri de colère pop, de l’ambient extrême-oriental et nombre d’autres albums qui méritent d’être redécouverts. Suivez les conseils de nos diggers.

1 Catherine Howe What a Beautiful Place (1971)

La Britannique Catherine Howe avait 20 ans lorsqu’elle enregistra le méconnu What a Beautiful Place, mais sa voix a la mystérieuse splendeur de l’intemporalité. Portée par un orchestre de piano, cuivres, cordes, flûtes et hautbois, elle navigue sur un lac glacé lorsque l’aube embrasse d’une amoureuse couleur rosée la magnificence d’un ciel voilé de brume. Entre deux tendresses se niche un peu de poésie en spoken word.

À l’orchestration : un producteur américain, Bobby Scott, qui engagea le London Symphony Orchestra pour cosigner ce bijou de folk féérique, qui disparut aussitôt sorti… avant d’être réédité par le label Numero Group en 2007. On pense à Joni Mitchell, Dusty Springfield, mais aussi, plus récemment, ou au folk fantasmagorique de Weyes Blood. CB

2 Chandra Transportation (1980)

Chandra Oppenheim n’avait que 12 ans lorsque sortit l’EP Transportation, condensé de postpunk/new wave que porte sa voix vindicative. Il faut dire que Chandra Oppenheim est la fille de l’artiste conceptuel, pionnier du land art Dennis Oppenheim et qu’elle fréquentait les lives de Steve Reich lorsque d’autres faisaient leurs devoirs. Peu importe cet aspect bête de foire, l’EP est dément, vraiment. Surtout le single strident Kate, cri de colère de Chandra contre la fameuse Kate, vers qui tous les regards sont tournés. CB

3 Kim Jung Mi Now (1973)

En 1973, le producteur sud-coréen Shin Joong Hyun enregistre Now avec la jeune Kim Jung Mi, un album de folk psychédélique transcendé par l’intense ballade Your Dream. L’album est à la hauteur de sa pochette : une contre-plongée sur Kim Jung Mi, ses yeux perdus dans le lointain, découpée sur un ciel si bleu qu’il ne peut être vu qu’à travers la distorsion sous LSD, au milieu de douces fleurs caressant ce tableau rêveur qui donne envie de s’embrasser roulé·es dans l’herbe. CB

4 Mohammed Abdel Wahab Daret El Ayam (1976)

Immense compositeur moderniste, auteur de grandes fresques sonores pour Oum Kalthoum, et lui-même chanteur, cet Égyptien assez incomparable a sorti une foule de disques, parmi lesquels ceux où il s’accompagne seul au oud figurent parmi les choses les plus sensibles et délicates jamais enregistrées. Sans sombrer dans l’orientalisme, une forme de blues arabe, presque funéraire. Il était aussi extrêmement élégant, ce qui ne gâche rien à l’écoute. JG

5 Hiroshi Yoshimura AIR (Air in Resort)

Connu pour son Music for 9 Postcards, réédité il y a une poignée d’années avec un succès foudroyant, ce compositeur japonais a sorti plusieurs disques atmosphériques, dont celui-ci, fait pour la marque Shiseido. Air, c’est comme un parfum qu’on n’attrape pas, une suite de morceaux si délicats que le fait même de bouger en les écoutant peut les broyer, les faire s’évaporer. Pas encore réédité, ce chef-d’œuvre ambient mérite un pressage plus digne que les cimetières vidéo de YouTube où il est désormais cantonné. JG

6 Leslie Winer Witch (1993)

La voix en spoken word de Leslie Winer vous fouette comme personne dans le recoin d’une cave enfumée. Sauvage et sensuel, le pionnier Witch est un sommet de trip hop qui sortit sous l’appellation © mais fut immédiatement éclipsé par Massive Attack et Portishead. Née à Boston, Leslie Winer rencontra William S. Burroughs à l’âge de 17 ans à New York. Et avec lui, Marguerite Duras, Denton Welch, mais aussi l’héroïne.

Leslie Winer devint ce que l’on peut appeler une It girl, oiseau de nuit au Roxy, petite amie de Jean-Michel Basquiat, estampillée “première mannequin androgyne” par Gaultier, et shootée par Irving Penn comme Helmut Newton. Mais c’est à Londres quelle enregistre Witch au début des années 1990, accompagnée de Carl Bonnie du groupe Renegade Soundwave, du bassiste Jah Wobble de Public Image Ltd., de Kevin Mooney et Matthew Ashman de Adam and the Ants.

Ses textes sont des collages de citations glanées ici et là, au gré de ses nombreuses lectures comme de ses propres mots. C’est mystérieux, brumeux, insolent, obscure et soutenu par des bass dub à vous casser le coccyx. Désormais installée dans la campagne française, Leslie Winer continue de sortir des albums. Le fabuleux label Light in the Attic a publié une anthologie de son travail en septembre dernier sous le titre When I Hit You – You’ll Feel It dans laquelle il faut absolument se plonger. CB

7 Ambienti Coassiali Room 1-6 (1988)

Les 25 trésors cachés de la discothèque idéale des Inrocks

Les années 1980 et 1990 ont produit leur lot de musiques industrielles ou ambient sorties en cassette, qui se vendaient via des listes de correspondance à rallonge. Parmi cette surproduction, quelques beaux restes, dont cet album italien, très minimaliste et électronique, qui installe le son à la façon d’une architecture resserrée : ça modifie l’air autour de vous. Et vos sens aussi. JG

8 Takatoshi Naitoh (内藤孝敏) In the Forest (1993) Très bel album de field recording que l’on ne saurait trop vous conseiller, comme une belle proposition pour aller mieux. Paru en 1993 sur le label japonais Eastworld, cet EP nous invite dans une forêt, où coule un ruisseau et où gazouillent des oiseaux entre deux orchestrations scintillantes. C’est si beau, si apaisant, si doux que l’on pourrait pleurer de la joie que ce disque existe. Et si internet ne délivre que peu d’infos sur son auteur,reste sa musique… CB

9 Weekend The 81 Demos (1995)

Ces morceaux fragiles ont été édités en vinyle il y a une poignée d’années par le regrettée label Blackest Ever Black. En 1981, Weekend était une suite à Young Marble Giants, et ces démos sont un moment de passage assez exceptionnel, dans lequel leur pop minimaliste, à peine fringuée, s’octroie la délicatesse des moments longs, des passages éthérés, à la façon des après-midis entières passées à faire des siestes remplies de rêve – et d’histoires d’amour poreuses.

C’est d’une évidence folle et claire tout au long des 9 minutes, menées à la boîte à rythmes du morceau Red Planes, dont les volutes construisent une hypnose délétère, un chavirement progressif des sens et une plongée dans la musicalité d’une époque – celle, éphémère, d’un postpunk pas encore dénaturé, pas encore ankylosé et capable de toutes les explorations, de tous les errements intimes. JG

10 Twenty Six This Skin is Rust (1996)

Le saviez-vous ? Avant Chromatics et ses milliers d’autres projets, Johnny Jewel avait débuté avec ce groupe-ci, et son seul album : un disque en solo, sous édifice isolationniste et postrock (la mode de l’époque), qui bourdonne, brûle, étire le temps et s’installe dans un bel angle gris, à la façon de sa pochette, quasi muette. JG

11 Chappaquiddick Skyline Chappaquiddick Skyline (2000)

Parmi les nombreuses incarnations du sonwgriter américain Joe Pernice (Pernice Brothers, Scud Mountain Boys, The New Mendicants…), Chappaquidick Skyline est la plus méconnue donc la plus culte. Seule référence discographique du groupe parue chez Sub Pop dans les premiers jours de l’an 2000, cet album éponyme contient une douzaine de magots d’obédience country pop et une reprise imprévue du classique Leave Me Alone de New Order. Typiquement le genre de disque avec lequel on se sent moins seul·e. FV

12 L’Altra In the Afternoon (2002)

Sans doute l’une des formations les plus mésestimées du post-rock. Et pourtant, à l’aube des années 2000, ce deuxième album de L’Altra paru chez Aesthetics (beau label défunt de Chicago, spécialiste du genre) mariait Codeine, Low et Slint dans un bain de jouvence, avec les voix entremêlées de Lindsay Anderson et Joseph Costa. Un disque d’une beauté crépusculaire et atemporelle pour les après-midi cotonneux. FV

13 Le Volume Courbe I Killed My Best Friend (2005)

Vendéenne exilée à Londres depuis des lustres et cachée sous ce beau nom géométrique, Charlotte Marionneau s’entoure, au mitan des années 2000, de quelques pointures anglo-saxonnes (son ex-compagnon Kevin Shields, Hope Sandoval, Andrew Innes et Martin Duffy de Primal Scream) sur un premier album mystérieux, entre pop songs acoustiques, mélopées obliques, reprise de Nina Simone et sample de Moondog. Un disque atypique étrangement addictif. FV

14 I Love You But I’ve Chosen Darkness Fear Is On Our Side (2006)

Peut-être le nom de groupe qui résume le mieux un trésor caché. En 2006, ce groupe d’Austin sort un premier album produit par Paul Barker de Ministry. Forcément sombre, le disque fait la jonction idéale entre la new wave lyrique, le rock atmosphérique et la postpop climatique. Un peu comme si New Order, Killing Joke et Interpol avaient enfanté un étrange rejeton (ILYBICD pour les intimes). L’obscurité a rarement été aussi lumineuse. FV

15 Cloetta Paris Secret Eyes (2008)Duo italo disco en provenance de Suède à la manière des compatriotes de Sally Shapiro, Cloetta Paris sortait ce premier album en 2008 sous couvert d’une pochette rose vichy, nous rappelant autant Valerie Dore que les Pet Shop Boys. En dix titres sucrés à souhait comme des sucettes à la fraise, la chanteuse Cloetta Paris et le producteur Clive Reynolds allaient droit au tube, reprenant même la scie So Serious d’Electric Light Orchestra. Aussi kitsch qu’attachant, un vrai plaisir coupable. FV

16 Bed The Newton Plum (2001)

En 2001, on découvrit ébahi un héritier français de Mark Hollis et Robert Wyatt avec un premier album époustouflant et hors mode édité par le bien nommé label nancéien Ici D’Ailleurs… Encore quasiment inconnu et interviewé à l’époque de la sortie de The Newton Plum, Benoît Burello, le cerveau de Bed, nous confiait son approche tactile de la matière sonore : “Faire sentir le feutre des tampons sur les cordes du piano, la corde de la contrebasse contre le manche, le frisé de la corde de guitare”.

À deux doigts d’abandonner la musique avant de trouver refuge sur la même maison de disques que Yann Tiersen, Bed publie donc ce disque sublime et contemplatif qui, vingt ans après, produit toujours le même effet d’émerveillement. Un trésor d’autant plus caché par les mélomanes que The Newton Plum n’a jamais été réédité depuis ni même édité en vinyle. FV

17 Dead Man’s Bones Dead Man’s Bones (2009)

Un seul album né de l’association entre l’acteur canadien Ryan Gosling et le producteur américain Zach Fields – dont la chanson Pa Pa Power est aujourd’hui magnifiquement reprise par Cat Power –, mais quel album cultissime ! Une sorte d’OVNI qui ravive les fantômes des Beach Boys, les cousins des Flaming Lips et d’Arcade Fire dans une mise en scène que ne renieraient ni David Lynch ni Tim Burton, le tout interprété avec le Silverlake Conservatory of Music Children’s Choir. Fascinant de bout en bout. FV

18 Tropic of Cancer Restless Idylls (2013)

Une poignée de maxis et ce seul album : Camella Lobo, alias Tropic of Cancer, ourdissait depuis L.A. une musique sombre qui regardait, dans les années 2010 du côté de l’Angleterre des années 1980 : ici, les spectres se nomment The Cure, Cocteau Twins, Slowdive. Mais ils sont aussi très californiens : dans cette musique néogothique se reflètent aussi les atmosphères des films noirs hollywoodiens des années 1940, les films de monstres des studios Universal.

Depuis la parution de cet album, Camella et son acolyte Taylor Burch (elle-même dans le groupe post-techno DVA Damas), ont fait une poignée de concerts, laissant en jachère une carrière qui aurait pu, dans le genre, être immense. Lot de consolation : l’émission que Camela produit pour la radio en ligne NTS dont le titre est un programme en soi, Cry Later. Oui, on (les) pleurera plus tard. JG

19 Issue Liquid Wisdom (2014) Il y a sept ans, la rédac des Inrocks s’excitait sur le délire de rap théiné du Californien Issue, 19 ans, fils de E-40 et masqué comme MF Doom (une façon de signaler la dimension cryptique de ses tracks). Sept ans plus tard, Issue n’a pas percé mais on le réécoute avec la même fascination. Du coton trempé dans de l’eau bouillante, un flow nonchalant soutenu par des prods sombres et élégantes, une passion pour le thé, une fascination pour le Japon. Le futur était là pourtant, entre ses doigts. CB

20 Uranium Club All of Them Naturals (2017)

Le Minnesota n’est pas seulement la mère patrie de Prince et Bob Dylan, c’est aussi celle d’Uranium Club, formation new wave que l’on croirait sortie d’un épisode de The Office (version US), bien décidée à marcher sur les plates-bandes de Devo. Comme la formation d’Akron, Ohio, les kids de Minneapolis s’épanouissent sous le ciel gris de la postindustrialisation, usant de rythmes bancals, de cliquetis bricolo et de guitares usées et acérés, comme d’un bastringue critique de la société de consommation avec un second degré désarmant. FM

21 Cheena Spend the Night With… (2016)

“Nos chansons parlent de faire des trucs débiles à New York”, nous avait confié cette bande de bras cassés glam-punk qui, au mitan des années 2010, s’était mis en tête de faire renaître les Dolls et les Stooges. Bras cassés ? Pas vraiment. Cheena, groupe d’un seul et unique album, est un conglomérat de musiciens issus de formations hardcore venues de Brooklyn, Far Rockaway et alentour, parmi lesquel·les on retrouve Margaret Chardiet, du projet noise Pharmakon. Avec onze titres dilapidés en 30 minutes chrono, Spend the Night With… est la définition même de l’urgence rock’n’roll. FM

22 PCPC Ramsgate (2016)

Dans le Brooklyn bouillonnant de la fin des années 2000, un bon paquet de groupes oscillant entre chill wave et postpunk se côtoient dans les clubs, sans autre ambition que celle de jouer le plus possible. C’est dans ce contexte que les Parquet Courts rencontrèrent PC Worship, formation adepte de formes d’expression musicales bruitistes et déstructurées. Réunies le temps d’un seul disque sous le sobriquet PCPC, les deux écuries pousseront encore plus loin cette formule, revivifiant les influences de Slint et Sonic Youth (entre autres), dans un maelström métallique libre et surprenant. FM

23 M.B. Jones R.O.K. Spy (2018)

Tandis que des milliardaires boursouflés s’échinent à faire des galipettes à la lisière de l’espace, les fantasmes du voyage interstellaire, portés depuis l’enfance, semblent plus dévitalisés que jamais, comme expurgés de leur charge utopique. Il en va de même pour l’imaginaire romantique de la vie d’espion-contrebandier depuis la chute du mur de Berlin et la fin, en trompe l’oeil, de la menace du feu nucléaire.

Parce que la culture populaire peine aujourd’hui à produire ce genre de récits intimes, s’inscrivant en creux dans la destinée globale d’une humanité à la dérive, l’album du mystérieux M.B. Jones, sorti en 2018 chez DRAMA (structure ad hoc émanent du label parisien Antinote), fait figure d’anomalie. Présenté comme un document sonore laissé par un espion américain basé à Busan en 2017, en Corée du Sud, R.O.K. Spy est un jeu de piste au storytelling bien huilé en 7 titres.

Disco décharné (le morceau Nuclear War rappelle nécessairement le rétrofuturisme de Sun Ra), instruments traditionnels locaux, voix féminines comme sorties d’un transistor, électronique expérimentale et échos façon Arthur Russel (Even Spies Fall in Love), tout ici conspire à rendre compte des errances sentimentales et cotonneuses d’un agent tenu par le plus grand des secrets avec, en toile de fond, l’imminence des flammes de l’Apocalypse. FM

24 Antoine Kogut Sphere of Existence (2018)

Si, au lieu de s’encanailler dans le New York peligroso des années 1980, Serge Gainsbourg s’était épris de voyages en mer du Japon, contemplant depuis le pont d’un bateau les côtes lointaines et les courbes de la terre, il aurait probablement fait paraître un disque de cet acabit.

Antoine Kogut, musicien parisien passé par l’écurie Bon Voyage Organisation et pilote du duo Syracuse, sortait en 2018 cet album de sept chansons mesurant le temps long, où se mêlent synthés, cuivres, gong et économie des mots, le tout empaqueté dans une pochette illustrée par Ugo Bienvenu. Un objet de fascination total. FM

25 Chocolat Jazz engagé (2019)

Et si Chocolat, formation made in Québec à géométrie variable, avait sorti le meilleur album des années 2010 ? Pour qu’il n’y ait pas d’erreur d’interprétation, Jazz engagé n’est pas un disque de jazz, ou plutôt si, mais alors dans son éthique de liberté, d’intensité et sa volonté d’exploser toutes les formes canoniques que sous-tend la pratique de la musique (ici, plutôt le rock). À ce titre, le cinquième format long de cet équivalent nord-américain d’un King Gizzard aurait pu aussi bien s’appeler Prog engagé, ou même Kraut engagé. Une définition de la générosité foutraque. FM

Texte Carole Boinet, Joseph Ghosn, François Moreau et Franck Vergeade

  • Mots clés: