Paid Covid-19 tests since October 15: all the answers to your questions

  • By kjhg

On October 15, Covid-19 screening tests became chargeable. Emmanuel Macron announced it during his speech on July 12, before the information was confirmed by Jean Castex on September 26, in an interview with Les Échos. Who is concerned ? How much are they going to cost? Le Figaro answers all your questions.

Read alsoCovid-19: free tests will have cost the State more than “8 billion euros” in two years

Why are the tests paid for?

The end of free tests on October 15 is part of the government's strategy to encourage people who have not yet been vaccinated (i.e. 25% of the population) to do so. On July 12, Emmanuel Macron explained that it was a question of "encouraging vaccination rather than the multiplication of tests". There is also a budgetary reason. “It is no longer legitimate to pay excessive comfort tests at taxpayer expense,” Jean Castex told Les Échos.

How much will the tests cost?

PCR and antigen tests will not cost the same. The government published the tariffs on Wednesday. “The prices to be paid will be identical to those currently covered by Health Insurance”, he indicates, and they vary according to the type of test, the professional who carries it out, the day and the place.

Read alsoPCR tests will cost 44 euros and minimum antigens 22 euros from October 15

Free tests: for whom?

Not everyone will have to put their hands in their pockets to get tested. Will still be able to benefit from a reimbursement from Social Security:

Be careful though: the people concerned will have to present proof to be reimbursed, whether it is a vaccination certificate, an identity document for minors or a medical prescription.

SEE ALSO - "There is no obligation to give a booster shot", specifies Gabriel Attal

Specific rates for overseas territories

A small subtlety: the end of free tests applies differently in overseas territories. In Mayotte, the tests will remain free, “given the fragility of the local screening system”. In Reunion, the price of tests will be set at 27.16 euros on weekdays, and 32.16 euros on Sundays. And, in Guyana, Martinique and Guadeloupe, free access will stop “on the date of the end of the health emergency”.

What about self-tests?

Please note that self-tests can no longer be used to validate a health pass from October 15. "Self-tests carried out under the supervision of a health professional will no longer be recognized", specified the Ministry of Health at the beginning of October, adding that "this device had indeed been deployed temporarily during the summer, in order to support the extension of the use of the health pass”.

What is the difference between PCR tests and antigen tests?

The PCR and antigen tests are all carried out by taking a sample from the bottom of the nose, called nasopharyngeal, using a swab. Where PCR is more reliable and requires laboratory analysis, with a result returned within 24 to 72 hours, the antigen test is less sensitive and returns its verdict quickly, in 15 to 30 minutes.

Read alsoCovid-19: how do the different virus screening tests work?

Health authorities advise people with contact and asymptomatic cases to give priority to antigenic tests. They are also recommended for symptomatic people who have had symptoms for less than four days.

A PCR test is more appropriate for those whose symptoms appeared more than four days ago.

Read alsoCovid-19: the weekly number of tests falls below the four million mark

How do I find a center to get tested?

To find a Covid-19 screening center near you, the government has made available, on the Santé.fr site, a map of all the sampling locations. A search by geolocation is possible. For each screening point, detailed information is given, such as contact details, schedules, or even the terms of access and making appointments.

SEE ALSO – Jean Castex announces the end of reimbursement for Covid tests on October 15.

  • Tags:

Tests Covid-19 payants depuis le 15 octobre : toutes les réponses à vos questions

  • Par kjhg

Le 15 octobre, les tests de dépistage du Covid-19 sont devenus payants. Emmanuel Macron l'avait annoncé lors de son allocution du 12 juillet, avant que l'information ne soit confirmée par Jean Castex le 26 septembre, dans une interview aux Échos. Qui est concerné ? Combien vont-ils coûter ? Le Figaro répond à toutes vos questions.

À lire aussiCovid-19 : la gratuité des tests aura coûté plus de «8 milliards d'euros» à l'État en deux ans

Pourquoi les tests sont-ils rendus payants ?

La fin de la gratuité des tests au 15 octobre entre dans la stratégie du gouvernement d'inciter les personnes encore non vaccinées (soit 25% de la population) à le faire. Le 12 juillet, Emmanuel Macron avait expliqué qu'il s'agissait «d'encourager la vaccination plutôt que la multiplication des tests». Il y a également un motif budgétaire. «Il n'est plus légitime de payer des tests de confort à outrance aux frais du contribuable», a déclaré Jean Castex aux Échos.

Combien les tests vont-ils coûter ?

Les tests PCR et antigéniques ne coûteront pas le même prix. Le gouvernement a publié mercredi les tarifs. «Les prix à régler seront identiques à ceux actuellement pris en charge l'Assurance maladie», indique-t-il, et ils varient en fonction du type de test, du professionnel qui le réalise, du jour et du lieu.

À lire aussiLes tests PCR coûteront 44 euros et les antigéniques minimum 22 euros à partir du 15 octobre

Tests gratuits : pour qui ?

Tout le monde ne devra pas mettre la main à la poche pour se faire tester. Pourront toujours bénéficier d'un remboursement de la Sécurité sociale :

Attention cependant : les personnes concernées devront présenter un justificatif pour être remboursées, qu'il s'agisse d'un certificat de vaccination, d'une pièce d'identité pour les mineurs ou d'une prescription médicale.

À VOIR AUSSI - «Il n'y a pas d'obligation du rappel vaccinal», précise Gabriel Attal

Des tarifs spécifiques pour les territoires d'Outre-mer

Une petite subtilité : la fin de la gratuité des tests s'applique différemment dans les territoires d'Outre-mer. À Mayotte, les tests resteront gratuits, «compte tenu de la fragilité du système de dépistage local». À La Réunion, le tarif des tests sera fixé à 27,16 euros en semaine, et à 32,16 euros le dimanche. Et, en Guyane, Martinique et Guadeloupe, la gratuité s'arrêtera «à la date de fin de l'urgence sanitaire».

Quid des autotests ?

Attention, les autotests ne peuvent plus être utilisés pour valider un passe sanitaire à partir du 15 octobre. «Les autotests réalisés sous la supervision d'un professionnel de santé ne seront plus reconnus», précisait le ministère de la Santé début octobre, ajoutant que «ce dispositif avait en effet été déployé temporairement au cours de l'été, afin d'accompagner l'extension de l'utilisation du passe sanitaire».

Quelle différence entre les tests PCR et les tests antigéniques ?

Les tests PCR et antigéniques sont tous réalisés par un prélèvement au fond du nez, dit nasopharyngé, à l'aide d'un écouvillon. Là où le PCR est plus fiable et nécessite une analyse en laboratoire, avec un résultat rendu sous 24 à 72h, le test antigénique est moins sensible et rend son verdict rapidement, en 15 à 30 minutes.

À lire aussiCovid-19 : comment fonctionnent les différents tests de dépistage du virus ?

Les autorités sanitaires conseillent aux personnes cas contacts et asymptomatiques de privilégier les tests antigéniques. Ils sont également recommandés aux personnes symptomatiques qui ont des symptômes depuis moins de quatre jours.

Un test PCR est plus approprié pour ceux dont les symptômes sont apparus il y a plus de quatre jours.

À lire aussiCovid-19 : le nombre hebdomadaire de tests repasse sous la barre des quatre millions

Comment trouver un centre pour se faire dépister ?

Pour trouver un centre de dépistage du Covid-19 près de chez soi, le gouvernement a mis à disposition, sur le site Santé.fr, une carte regroupant tous les lieux de prélèvement. Une recherche par géolocalisation est possible. Pour chaque point de dépistage sont données des informations détaillées, telles que les coordonnées, les horaires, ou encore les modalités d'accès et de prise de rendez-vous.

À VOIR AUSSI - Jean Castex annonce la fin du remboursement des tests Covid le 15 octobre.

  • Mots clés: