Covid tests will remain reimbursed without prescription for vaccinated adults and minors, announces Jean Castex

  • By kjhg

“It is no longer legitimate to overpay for comfort tests at taxpayer expense.” Jean Castex confirmed on Sunday September 26 the end of free “comfort” screening tests for Covid-19 on October 15, while specifying that they will continue to be reimbursed for medical reasons, without requiring a prescription for people vaccinated, in an interview with Échos .

Read alsoCovid-19: the weekly number of tests falls below the four million mark

“But tests will continue to be reimbursed for medical reasons, either without a prescription for people who have already been vaccinated, or on prescription for others. We also want to maintain free access for minors,” he adds.

Encourage to get vaccinated

“The logic is to reimburse tests linked to truly medical reasons, and to continue to encourage people to be vaccinated”, insists the Prime Minister. During his speech on July 12, Emmanuel Macron announced that the “comfort” tests would become chargeable in the fall.

Read alsoTravel to Morocco: suspension of flights, vaccines, tests... What you need to know

The measure is supposed to encourage vaccination, while the number of first doses injected daily tends to drop. As of September 23, according to data from the Ministry of Health, 74.7% of French people have received at least one dose of vaccine, and 71.6% have received a complete vaccination schedule. If vaccination is at this stage reserved for French people over the age of twelve, there are still audiences to conquer among the adult populations. Thus, 10% of those over 75 received no dose, a rate which reaches 15% among 30-49 year olds and 29% among 12-17 year olds, for whom vaccination was opened on June 15.

As an incentive for vaccination, the reimbursement of tests also aims to reduce the bill for screening, which cost 2.2 billion euros in 2020 and for which 4.9 billion are planned this year.

SEE ALSO - Do vaccines promote the appearance of new variants?

  • Tags:

Les tests Covid resteront remboursés sans prescription pour les adultes vaccinés et les mineurs, annonce Jean Castex

  • Par kjhg

«Il n'est plus légitime de payer des tests de confort à outrance aux frais des contribuables.» Jean Castex a confirmé dimanche 26 septembre la fin de la gratuité des tests «de confort» de dépistage du Covid-19 au 15 octobre, tout en précisant qu'ils continueront d'être remboursés pour raison médicale, sans nécessiter de prescription pour les personnes vaccinées, dans une interview aux Échos .

À lire aussiCovid-19 : le nombre hebdomadaire de tests repasse sous la barre des quatre millions

«Mais les tests continueront d'être remboursés pour raison médicale, soit sans prescription pour les personnes déjà vaccinées, soit sur prescription pour les autres. Nous voulons également maintenir la gratuité pour les mineurs» ajoute-t-il.

Inciter à se faire vacciner

«La logique est de rembourser les tests liés à des motifs réellement médicaux, et de continuer à inciter à se faire vacciner», insiste le premier ministre. Lors de son allocution du 12 juillet, Emmanuel Macron avait annoncé que les tests «de confort» deviendraient payants à l'automne.

À lire aussiVoyage au Maroc : suspension de vols, vaccins, tests... Ce qu'il faut savoir

La mesure est censée encourager la vaccination, alors que le nombre de premières doses injectées quotidiennement a tendance à baisser. En date du 23 septembre, selon les données du ministère de la Santé, 74,7% des Français ont reçu au moins une dose de vaccin, et 71,6% ont reçu un schéma vaccinal complet. Si la vaccination est à ce stade réservée aux Français de plus de douze ans, il reste, parmi les populations adultes, des publics à conquérir. Ainsi, 10% des plus de 75 ans n'ont reçu aucune dose, un taux qui atteint 15% chez les 30-49 ans et 29% chez les 12-17 ans, pour qui la vaccination a été ouverte le 15 juin.

Incitation à la vaccination, le déremboursement des tests a également pour but d'alléger la facture du dépistage, qui a coûté 2,2 milliards d'euros en 2020 et pour lequel 4,9 milliards sont prévus cette année.

À VOIR AUSSI - Les vaccins favorisent-ils l'apparition de nouveaux variants?

  • Mots clés: